top of page
  • Writer's pictureRose

The Wysman → Representation at its finest!

Updated: Aug 29, 2020

Was this blog supposed to start with a book review? No

Was it something considered for the blog ? Yes.

Is it now how I am going to end up starting this blog due to unexpected circumstances and letting my workaholic, sporadic nature loose when I should have reigned it in? Yes!


Hi, My name is Rose and this is #Ordinary, a blog written by a Female, Muslim, chronically ill, storyteller



Book reviews were something I had considered as a later possibility (though not written by me) until I took a rapid, in-the-moment decision after crossing an interesting post on a recent Facebook page I signed up to: BookCon. A post by a lovely intern at ‘Inspired Quill’ Publishing, reaching out for reviews on a new book they had lined up for release. What made it so interesting that I now am, spontaneously, writing a book review?

Well, the words: Disabled protagonist of course!


Now , I am not one who is fooled to believe that the representation of disabled characters is wholly accurate often in books, after all it's not everyday you can use a magic artefact to perform as if the disability is not there. But as someone who found themselves recently disabled, after living the first two centuries of her life completely 'abled', for the past few months seeking any form of representation I can connect with, to remind myself I can't possibly be alone in this big wide world (as my mental health monsters like to gang up and make me believe) and am justified in my emotions and thoughts during this unexpected circumstances.

And I found just that within and more this book by Dorothy. A. Winsor.

I know, not something that you would believe possible to come from a book right?

Wrong! Well.... sort of!

I have been slowly consuming my way through the disabled representation in the entertainment/media world, though not entirely with fictional books, bar the tale of ‘A curse so dark and Lonely’ by Brigid Kemmerer whose main character suffered from cerebral palsy, a disability I myself could not connect with entirely.

But that changed after this book.


Disabled. Courageous. Witty.

The simplest ways to describe Jarka, the main protagonist of ‘The Wysman

Not really words you usually find together, right?


‘The Wysman’ follows the tale of young Jarka, a crutch baring, big-hearted boy, as he works to become the future kings adviser (Wysman or Wyswoman) whilst he is looked down on for still bearing the marks of the old Powers, facing the trials of magic, relationships and trust. And all whilst NOT ignoring the implication of his disability!

Dorothy. A. Winsor displays Jarka with all his vulnerabilities and weaknesses due to his illness, in a way that presents a disability not in the way most people may visualise it, i.e as 'synonymous with dependent'. Instead, she shows a side of disability many will miss unless personally knowing a disabled person them selves personally: an independent Living disabled. Someone who has a physical lack, but it does not stop them living as another abled person.


We all require some level of dependence of life, to make up for things we don't have, say if one lacks strong memory they may use a device to help, or if one is not good at English they may still excel at science. Such is the case, I feel, for some physical disabilities, if one cannot walk they will use a wheelchair, if one cannot hear they will use a hearing aid. It does not take away the rest of their potential and dependence. Like none-seen inabilities, we all just work to live around them.


The author displays this excellently though the narrative, characterises Jarka perfectly within a greatly spun narrative arc that both excites and yet doesn't require much thought or time to read or get immersed in. All the whilst doing the most important thing I feel, for a disabled characters representation in a Magical world: not presenting magic as a 'exchanger' of sort (i.e. fixing his 'lack' without removing the tittle of disabled), but instead magic is just another tool he has in his arsenal. And all the while not presenting these vulnerabilities as Jarak's fatal flaw, as I have found disabilities often are not.

They aren't a road block to all paths of independence.


I found myself falling in love with Jarka's witty lines, I couldn't really find myself picking just the perfect one! There were too many to love!



If you are a fan of Tamora Pierce writing, you will definitely be a fan of this book, where the story line is not over saturated with magic, nor realism, but a balance of both to create a fictional world worth diving into, whether on the way to work, school, or a casual read during the week!


Though, one thing I do have critic for this book and I KNOW this is sort of a ‘no-no’ for book reviews (I did do some research before I started to write) but as an artist and fellow reader, I know this isn't something we all ignore: the book cover.

Don't get me wrong, its not bad! As someone who read the book, I now understand its design, but If i had not been reading for the representation and passed it on a book shelf, I don't think it would have caught my eye unfortunately.





And so I fell into the trap of creating some concept art (hence why this review is up a little late then it should be...)



Nothing completely fleshed out, just some ideas that I may go on to finalising into some art work for based on this story (however deadlines are calling at the moment!


Overall: Definitely a book to recommend in my (humble) opinion!

If that was not already obvious...




My over all response?




Warning on book:

  • Mentions of abuse

  • Perspectives of vulnerabilities (I would want to not have to put this as a warning, but I know sometimes with disabilities, or illnesses, depression and anxiety can come along, So reading from the perspective of someone when they may feel down is not for everyone when it hits close to home → but this is a perfect example of why I feel even those with no disability should take a read to understand this book)


433 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page